In an effort to streamline the checkout process, we've removed one small confirmation screen when using Elevent widgets. We're always looking for ways to maximize the balance between converting sales online and maximizing the amount of engagement of each visitor.
This change only applies to embedded widgets.
Heretofore (Fancy way of saying "before now"), when someone added anything to their cart, they'd see an explicit confirmation that the item was added to their cart. There's a reason for this:
- We can't always count on everyone putting a good, visible cart widget on their website
- Customers actually don't expect a real shopping cart when they buy tickets and passes. Most ticketing systems make people check out over and over. Customers abandon even the attempt at future purchases after 1-2 completed purchases. The explicit confirmation makes it patently obvious they can add more to their cart and then check out just once.
However, when you start to add on other steps like a donation upsell, add-ons, or requesting info to print on a credential or badge, it can get a bit chatty.
Where you used to see an explicit confirmation that items were added to a cart, like this:

Now customers will land directly on the cart, with an option to dismiss the cart and keep shopping, like this:

This is a change we've been testing and the preliminary data indicates a slight improvement--we'll keep this change at full scale and collect gobs of data to ensure that keeping the change is a net positive for all.
